How to select a MPPT Charge controller

Iftikhar Hussain
Iftikhar Hussain Registered Users Posts: 6
Dear friends,
I am new in solar business not does not know enough to design a solar home system or any other, i am facing problem to select MPPT charge controller , inverter and batter bank, for example:

125 watt celing fan x 8 hrs run = 1000 wh/day
added system loss factor 1000 x 30%= 1300 wh/day
Sun shine hours : 1300 / 4 sunshine hours= 325 wh/day

Now how to select inverter size ?
how to select battery bank for 2 days backup
how to design mppt charge controller?

what will be equation / formula ?

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: How to select a MPPT Charge controller
    i am facing problem to select MPPT charge controller , inverter and batter bank, for example:

125 watt celing fan x 8 hrs run = 1000 wh/day
    added system loss factor 1000 x 30%= 1300 wh/day
    Sun shine hours : 1300 / 4 sunshine hours= 325 wh/day

Now how to select inverter size ?
    how to select battery bank for 2 days backup
    how to design mppt charge controller?

Welcome to the forum,

This doesn't make sense: "Sun shine hours : 1300 / 4 sunshine hours= 325 wh/day"

I think you are calculating that you need a 325 watt solar array to provide 1300 watthours of energy every day.

You should first choose your battery bank, and then figure out what you need to charge a bank of that size. In the event of cloudy weather you should discharge your bank about 25% per day. After two days of poor charging your battery will be 50% depleted... what will you do then? At that point the batteries need to be recharged without delay. Do you have grid or generator?

Assuming you are OK with this, we need to make some assumptions about your inverter's efficiency. Lets assume 90% (including tare losses). Therefore your battery needs to supply about 1100 watthours per day (if there is no sun). Therefore your battery should store 4400 watthours.