Basic Questions About Small-Scale Solar System For Under $300

solarStudent
solarStudent Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello Everyone,

Solar novice here, just wanted some pointers and feasibility judgements about my small scale solar design.

The idea here is to use a solar panel to charge a 12-volt battery. Once every 2 hours or so, the battery would need to drive a water heating element to generate about 200 watts to boil water for 20 minutes.

I plan on using a pre-built 12 volt battery charger. How do I determine the specs for such a device, to ensure that it will remain charged?

Can I hook up the charger to the battery without a charge controller, and the battery directly to the heating element?
Here are the types of elements I'm looking at:

Solar panel charger: http://www.batteryjunction.com/6wpanel.html?gclid=CNqb9a28jbwCFa9lOgodaRcAlw

12 volt battery: http://www.walmart.com/ip/25955654?wmlspartner=wlpa&selectedSellerId=3&adid=22222222227018915744&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=c&wl3=35550451356&wl4=&wl5=pla&wl6=53508072156&veh=sem

Heating element: http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-Water-Heater-Element-for-wind-turbines-and-solar-setups-12-volt-300-watt-/400520753250?_trksid=p2054897.l4276

Anything that will prevent this from working?

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Basic Questions About Small-Scale Solar System For Under $300

Welcome to the forum.

Math. It's not fun, but it's necessary. :D

200 Watts for 20 minutes is 67 Watt hours. On 12 Volts that's 5.6 Amp hours for one 'cycle'. Now how many cycles do you propose in a day? If it's every 2 hours for a whole day that's 12 cycles, or 67 Amp hours used.

The battery you point to is not deep cycle (hence the cold cranking Amps rating) and would not be suitable for this application. You'd need something along the lines of this: http://www.solar-electric.com/cr185am12vod.html