enphase calculation?

I am trying to find the amperage of this enphase array for wire size and breaker size:

system size: 23.25kw
total modules: 93 x 250w modules
inverters per branch: 14,13,14,13,14,13,12
Inverters: enphase 215 micro
Voltage: 3 phase 208v

Here is what I came up with.

(93 modules) x (1.1 max output amps) = 102.3 x 1.25= 127.8

* the 1.1 max output amps I got right off the micro inverter.

And another question: Why couldn't you do the system size of 23,250 / 208v x 1.25?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin
    Re: enphase calculation?

I am not an Enphase expert--But the maximum branch circuit an Enphase can be connected to is 20 amps @ 240 VAC (and probably 208 too).

20 amps * 0.80 NEC derating / 1.1 amps = 14.5 (14) inverters maximum per 20 amp branch circuit

The next question is you have 7 strings of inverters and a 208 VAC 3 phase main panel (?).

If so, most utilities are very picky about their 3 phase loads and Grid Tied installations. Normally, you have to "balance" the solar power across all three phases equally.

However, there are limits in the balance requirements... For example the utility may allow a maximum of 10 kWatt imbalance (before they charge you extra for the larger than allowed on standard service power imbalance).

Also, a utility may require some sort of guarantee that if there is a single phase loss, that all phases of the solar power source need to be shut down. That may be a phase loss contactor or Enphase may have phase loss shutdown supported internally with their own hardware (I don't know--I do not install solar power).

In the end, I am not quite sure of your question... You have 7x 20 amp circuits that need to be evenly split among 3 phase connections (2 strings per phase, and a third orphan that goes somewhere--following utility engineering instructions). At least for a "typical" (as I understand) installation.