Making up 48v

Options
olebrass
olebrass Registered Users Posts: 3
Newbie here. Great site!
I live in The Bahamas and I'm wanting to build an off grid system. I've done a lot of research online, and I've arrived at a 240/48v system. I know that making up the 48v battery bank with 2v batteries is preferred to 6v batteries, but my question is how big a difference in performance will I likely see by making up the 48v bank with 24/2v batteries or 8/6v batteries? Also, will AGM batts give me the same basic length of service as lead acid?
Thank you.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Making up 48v

Welcome to the forum.

Actually the reason you'd use 2 Volt cells over 6 Volt ones is a matter of how much Amp hour capacity you need: the more stored power, the easier it is to get in a larger size but less Voltage battery. For example a Crown 2 Volt cell may be 500 Amp hours or it may be 2350 Amp hours. At the low end you could run a couple of strings of 6 Volt 320 Amp hour batteries in parallel. At the high end you would need far too many parallel strings of 6 Volts to be practical.

AGM batteries generally do not last as long as FLA's. Another consideration for when you start out is that the flooded cells are more tolerant of mistakes and easier to keep an accurate eye on. They are also cheaper per stored Watt hour. AGM's have their own advantages such as being spill-proof, not gassing, more efficient, and can take/give higher current. But you should really only spend the extra $ if you need those advantages.
  • olebrass
    Options

Thank you for such a quick reply cariboocoot. The info was valuable.
  • westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

IIRC there is a board member close to you, Dapdan, who might be of assistance, try sending a personal message to Dapdan. He has used several brands of AGM batteries.

hth

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM