Newbie questions about 12v lighting

bostonseven
bostonseven Registered Users Posts: 6
Hello everyone, it's great to be here and hopefully I'll find the help and advice that I need!

So, as a newbie, I have lots of questions, first ones, are about a 12v setup.

By reading around the forums quite a bit, I figured that I should probably consider adding 12v to a small building, separate from my house, that I use as my office for computer work, instead of using an inverter. The use would be computers, phone/tablet chargers and lighting only. I don't need it, but I like the idea of solar for the sake of it and I'll get solar panels and controller when I feel I'm ready.

I have to start simple, so I have a 3-stage smart charger, a starting/deep cycle battery, a UPS and an inverter (before I decided to consider 12v straight). Solar panels and controller will replace or the charger which will be then used as a backup for any poor charging from the panels.

- I already have a problem figuring out how to hook up the battery and I would love to hear from you, maybe you could explain/show me what are my options.

- I also would like to find out about fuses/breakers and what's the best way to hook up those (close to the battery is the main thing I learned, but better a fuse and switch or a breaker?).

- Switches, breakers, lights are all specific to 12v, but are wires, terminals and fixtures interchangeable (obviously must be kept separate from 110VAC)?

- Should the battery stay outside, maybe in one of those black boxes, even in very cold weather (coming up soon, I'm in Boston)? I know batteries lose a lot in the cold, what can I do about that?

I have a more comprehensive plan for the medium and also planning for the long term, but I want to start getting familiar a little step at a time...

Thanks for any input!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,590 admin
    Re: Newbie questions about 12v lighting