New to Solar and a lot of noobie questions :)

ehazell94
ehazell94 Registered Users Posts: 3
First off I would like to say hello to everyone I am new to the site and new to using/trying to use solar power. My name is edward and I am from Northern NJ, I was hoping everyone would be able to advise and or help with my first solar setup.

My living situation currently is a 1 bedroom apartment :
Power Usage = average usage 700 Watts

The setup I have designed so far is:

- All Black 100W 12V Solar Panel
- 75AH 12V DC Deep Cycle Solar Energy Storage Battery
- Attwood Powerguard 27 Battery Box Vented
- LCD Digital Voltage Panel Meter Voltmeter 7.5V -> 20V (Would install on/off switch)
- Whistler Pro-2000W Power Inverter

My basic concerns since I have never done this before and am new to the whole electricity field;

1.) Should there be any types of Diodes, or like safety mechanisms between these items? What would you add to ensure safety/efficiency? Don't want to over charge the battery or damage the panels/battery/inverter in anyway if possible.

2.) What type of wires would you use for the connections for a setup like this? What type of wiring would be best?

3.) When using an inverter does it add to the Amps being drawn from the battery? Say I was running enough appliances to pull about 16 Amps per hour, how much would that inverter add to the equation like would it be plus 1 - 2 Amps making it a total draw of 17 - 18?

4.) If I was to use a heating element appliance that draws near 1800 watts would any type of like breaker be needed? again just trying to be safe and keep my system safe.

5.) Any other knowledge or input is greatly appreciated, again this is my first project and first time working with solar panels, and I would like to ensure I am doing things correctly

THANKS SO MUCH FOR ANY AND ALL INPUT
and in advance it is nice to meet all of you!!
:D

Comments

• jcheil
    jcheil Solar Expert Posts: 722 ✭✭✭
    Re: New to Solar and a lot of noobie questions :)