Newbie Designing a System

RobW
RobW Registered Users Posts: 23 ✭✭
Hi all,

I've been lurking around a few weeks but this is my first post. I'm fairly new to solar but I've been fooling around with one of the Harbor Freight 45w kits to familiarize myself a bit. I want to get your inputs on a system design.

I've had a Kill-A-Watt measuring a load I would like to take off-grid. Here's the readings from the Kill-A-Watt:

120 VAC
39.34 kWh
226 hours measured

At the time of the reading the load was drawing 1.7 A and 194 watts. Dividing the 39.34 kWh by the 226 hours looks to be about 175 watts. 39.34 kWh/120 VAC = 328 A. 328 A/226 hours = 1.45 Ah. The load is fairly consistent across time. Of course, all these readings are AC.

Ok, I may be wrong already, but with these next steps I'm really not sure of myself. Here's my stab at it. I may be totally wrong from the get-go.

I'm thinking I'm looking at a system that will supply 2A x 24hours = 48 Ah. Bringing this through an inverter, at 12VDC I'm looking at 480Ah.

Before I go any further, am I looking at this correctly? How bad am I messing up these figures?

Rob

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Newbie Designing a System

Welcome to the forum Rob.

You're looking at a 175 Watt load running for a steady 24 hours? That is 4200 Watt hours per day. On a 12 Volt system roughly 350 Amp hours. This does not include conversion losses or powering the inverter. If you make those adjustments you get about 4800 Watt hours per day or 400 Amp hours @ 12 Volts. So you're not too far off the mark. :D

But that is power used, not battery capacity. The battery bank would have to be at least twice that.