Solar panel on a golf cart

Options
NEWBIEST NEWBIE
NEWBIEST NEWBIE Registered Users Posts: 11
I am new to this solar business but very excited about it. I have a shed that i am making into a small cabin that will be solar power only. Bought a couple of the harbor freight kits, cool. But today i am wanting to put a panel on the golf cart to keep the batteries up. Dont know enough to do it. Six 6 cell batts. Can use an 80 watt panel or a 15 watt panel. Is it possible to do?

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Solar panel on a golf cart

welcome to the forum.
    the harbor freight pvs may be better suited to keep the batteries up on the golf carts.

for the cabin you should start by saying what kind of loads you will have and for how long to come up with a good watt hours figure. once the loads are known we can discuss options further from there.
  • NorthGuy
    NorthGuy Solar Expert Posts: 1,913 ✭✭
    Options

Aren't you afraid of golf balls hitting the panel and breaking it?
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options

Your golf cart will run a 36 Volt battery bank (the six 6 Volt batteries in series). This is not standard for renewable energy systems. As such you have to either get a rather expensive charge controller and enough panel to provide >54 Volts to charge them as a whole, or divide up the charging into three separate panels with three separate controllers @ 12 Volts (nominal) each.

In practical terms it isn't worth doing. The amount of panel you can fit on a cart will contribute very little to the maintaining of the batteries. And yes, some have done it. I believe Volvo Farmer is one forum member who has such a set-up just for kicks.
  • NEWBIEST NEWBIE
    Options