Newbie Question Here

danielb
danielb Registered Users Posts: 5
Hi, I'm just getting into wind power and I have question. Do different types of SMALL wind turbines handle different wind speeds? I mean, obviously, I know that different materials affect the quality of the turbine but is there a small personal use wind turbine that can take speeds of up to 70mph? Maybe more than that kindav... If you could list possibilities of companies or even products that fit that description that would be awesome!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Newbie Question Here

The only wind turbine that I had that generated "useful" power at 70 mph was on my old WWII vintage aircraft that used an external generator to charge the radio battery and run the navigation lights (did not even have a generator on the engine).

Backing up a moment--What is it that you are expecting from a Wind turbine in AmpHours @ XY volts (or Watt*Hours/kWH) per day. And what is the average wind speed at the height of tower you would be installing?

In general, small wind turbines mounted on towers less than 60' up (and less than 30' above trees/buildings/obstructions in the area) are not going to produce much in the way of useful power (unless the amount of power you need is very small too).

Just to be fair--I am, personally, not a big fan of small wind power. Here are some test results for small wind turbines from a few years ago that were tested on suggested (short) towers in open fields, in a fairly windy location in the Netherlands (many intended to be "city turbines" and/or roof top installs (recommend not to touch roof top installs with a 30 yard pole):
    BB. wrote: »
    One other interesting point to ponder... How far off most of the production numbers were (if I read the Dutch Specs. correctly).

Link to Article (in OP--Measured Yield).
    Link to translated Dutch specs. (yearly power estimates from Vendors):