Battery Issues

dhill
dhill Solar Expert Posts: 47
I've been running a system off grid for 10 years. I have Outback equip (3624 inverter, charge controller, mate) and 8 Trojan T15 connected in 2 strings for 24volts. My batteries aren't holding their charge after sundown. In one string the battery cases heat up, warm to the touch. I'm considering taking that string out of the mix. To what extent should the battery cases be warm. I can hold my hand over the top of the batteries and feel warmth. They are warm to touch but not hot. Is this an indication that the cells are dead. I add distilled water regularly as needed. The water level inside the cells has never dropped below the plates. I tried equalizing but didn't seem to get any results from that. Any advice or comments are appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Blackcherry04
    Blackcherry04 Solar Expert Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭
    Re: Battery Issues

Well, there is a point that Batteries do reach the end of their useful life. Since you didn't mention the SG level of the cells there is no way to know if the Equalization did any good or not. If you get a hydrometer and / or check them you'll know. You need to to check the voltage of each battery at rest to know if they are holding the charge. Splitting the bank apart might be a good idea to see if you can isolate the problem.
  • NorthGuy
    NorthGuy Solar Expert Posts: 1,913 ✭✭

I'm curious, have you used these batteries for 10 years, or is it a newer set?

I would measure voltages accross individual batteries to see if one of them has a shorted cell, in which case its voltage will be much lower than others.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Uh, are you saying you've run the same set of T105's for ten years and now they won't hold charge over night? If so, you've set a record for battery longevity and it's time to get new ones.