24v solar system question - from Greece!

yiannis5
yiannis5 Registered Users Posts: 14 ✭✭
Hello all,

This is my first post - congratulation for the site, it is very informative. I am a solar beginner and have recently installed a small off-grid system. I am located in Greece and the installation was done by a local firm. Basically I would like to get an experts opinion on whether the system was correctly installed and balanced. What we have so far:

1. 4 X 6v Trojan t105RE batteries 225 Ah (20 hour rate) connected in series so if I understand correctly we have a 24v battery bank at 225Ah

2. 4 X Solarworld poly panels 230 watts each ( not sure how they were connected, I think it is a combination of series and parallel!) - the charger displayed a maximum voltage of 64 volts so far so I assume they are connected 2 in series and 2 parallel?

Specs for the panels

Maximum power 230 Wp
Voc 36.9
Vmp 29.8
Imp 7.72A

3. Solar charger is a MPPT Tracer

45A charge current
20A discharge current
150 VDC

4. Inverter is a Victron Multiplus 24v/3000W with a 70A charger

5. I also have a Honda EU26i generator.

Can someone let me know if this system is balanced or needs a bigger battery or solar bank? If I add another set of 4 Trojan batteries will I have better autonomy and will I also need to add more solar panels or will I have enough power from the panel side?

Many thanks for sunny Greece!!

Yiannis

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: 24v solar system question - from Greece!

Welcome to the forum Yiannis.

You've got your system specifications correct: 225 Amp hours @ 24 Volts, panels in series & parallel for 60.6 Vmp 15.44 Imp array.