Options
Hi Guys,

I am a newbie to all this... I want to invest into a windmill or solar panels..
I live in Canada and in the city of Toronto.. I have a pretty big backyard but dont know if a windmill could go in my backyard if its really tall.... I can put it on my roof... my question is...

- which would give me more power and save me more $$$ in my bills in the long run?

- Can someone please point me to some documentation or provide me high level information on how solar panels work from an installation stand point.
ex.. panels connect to a battery that then connects to my fuse box??? also for the windmill is that the way they hook up?

What do you guys think?

Thanks and this is a GREAT site :)

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Newbie

Short answer, probably none of these system will save you any money on your electric bill...

Solar PV electricity (solar panels) and Grid Tied connected Inverter is the a good source of power... But after all is said and done, it will cost you more than $0.25 per kWhr assuming nothing breaks for 25 years (excluding gov. rebates). Low maintenance, easy to debug/fix problems. The only "wear" part is the inverter which should be good for well over 10 years (an inverter is basically equivalent to a computer power supply in parts and design). And they are not too expensive to replace--if or when it is needed (a 3kW inverter is around $2,000)

Wind--unless you live in an area with very good wind (almost too windy to every enjoy the outdoors), they will not generate that much power, many are noisy, and fail quite often (if there is one for home use that will last more than 5 years without maintenance--crane and rebuilding--I would be surprised). Yes, it costs less than Solar PV panels to install--but unpredictable output (local wind conditions) and mechanical/design issues/maintenance costs make a successful project a roll of the dice.