Newbie question

Options
Gene.243
Gene.243 Solar Expert Posts: 35 ✭✭
I'm just getting into solar power and was wondering how much usable power can be collected by say a 1 KW collector array charging a bank of flooded acid batteries.

TIA
Gene

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Newbie question

1 kw of PV connected to a FLA battery bank and providing power through an inverter will look like this.

Take the name plate rating of the PV, divide in half to account for all cumulative system loses, then multiply that by4 to represent the AVERAGE hours of good sun you can reasonably expect, per day over the course of the year.

So, 1000/2*4=2000/WH/day.

Welcome to the forum, good luck and keep in touch,

Tony
  • Gene.243
    Options

Then to use the 2000WH/day I would need a battery bank where 2kwh/per day is 75% of my battery bank capacity?
  • Gene.243
    Options

No 2kwh/day is 25% of bank capacity. So I would need 8 12V 100 ah batteries.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Gene.243 wrote: »
    Then to use the 2000WH/day I would need a battery bank where 2kwh/per day is 75% of my battery bank capacity?

That is a better starting point: you need 2 kW hours per day, how do your get it?

On 12 Volts it's about 167 Amp hours. If you want to limit the depth of discharge to 25% (recommended; no more than 50%) you need a 12 Volt battery bank of (167 * 4) 668 Amp hours. That can be done, but it's a bit large. Double the system Voltage to 24 and the battery bank in Amp hours is half: 334.

To recharge that you'd want an array capable of peak charge rate that is 10% of the capacity, or 33 Amps @ 24 Volts (792 Watts). Adjust for efficiency losses of panel and controller: 1028 Watt array.

Now let's look at how that works with Tony's formula:

1028 Watts * 4 hours of equivalent good sun * 52% over-all efficiency = 2139 Watt hours AC.

This is what we call a balanced system. :D