Need a little help...

Options
johnT
johnT Registered Users Posts: 15 ✭✭
I have a friend who is getting ready to set up his solar panels, and is planning on turning them east, or just slightly southeast. His reason is because someone told him that his batteries will be at their lowest state of discharge first thing in the morning, so turning them east would get them charging/charged quicker. I have tried to explain why true south is way to go, but he seems stuck on it for some reason (I am still a beginner myself, so can't blame him for not taking my word on it). I thought maybe if I could get anybody here to write a beginners version of "why south" then I could show him different peoples views/opinions and it might turn him around before it's too late. I should mention he has total control over which way they will end up facing, so he CAN point them south, he is just choosing not to at this point. thanks

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Need a little help...

I hate to tell you this but your friend may well be right, depending on what is usage patterns are and how far East the pnels are twisted.

Yes, panels will out out their maximum if pointed solar South. However, on an off-grid system this means you get peak production midday when the batteries may already be charged from morning sun anyway and there may not be any loads to run. Hence the reasoning behind a little earlier exposure to get the charge cycle start (and completed) sooner.

However, this just means you shift the 'midday power surplus' to a different time of day; you may still have power available that you can't realize because there's no place for it to go. This is why trackers were invented; to gain total Watt hours over the day.