MPPT amperage output on 12 volt system

rebelbah
rebelbah Registered Users Posts: 4
Good Day All, newbie here
im trying to better understand the MPPT charge controllers better. i have a 12 volt system, a 40A MPPT charge controller, i have 2 12volt(max 16.* volt output) 50watt 3.**amp solar panels (for now)
i know if i connect the 2 panels in parallel i can get 16volts max 6.* amps
i know if i connect the 2 panels in series(in theory) i can get 32volts max 3.* amps but

1) if i connect the 2 panels in series getting a max of 32volts what amps should i get with a MPPT charge controller?
2) if i were later to add panels(maybe 24v 200+ panels) would it be better to have higher or lower voltage in groups?

Thank you

Comments

• waynefromnscanada
    waynefromnscanada Solar Expert Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: MPPT amperage output on 12 volt system

Would be interesting to know what MPPT controller you have - - - some are more efficient than others thus less loss.
    An easy way to look at it is to multiply the voltage of the panels under load, by the amps flowing. That will give you the power in watts. Regardless of voltage as long as it's within the range the controller can handle, that wattage enters the MPPT controller, which then, minus losses, passes that wattage on to the batteries, with the amperage depending on the battery voltage at the moment.
    To simplify for easy understanding, lets assume the panels are putting out 24 volts and 5 amps. lets also assume the controller is 100 % efficient and that the battery voltage is at 12 volts. What you'll have coming into the controller is 5A X 24V = 120 watts.