So...I'm Confused (what a concept) :)

t.ferguson
t.ferguson Registered Users Posts: 2
Hi All! I will preface this by saying I have no electrical knowledge or skills whatsoever, though I am willing and eager to begin learning. I am planning to live out of a van next summer and would like to rig it up with some solar power. All I need have working is a simple alarm clock, a laptop, a lamp and the occasional camera battery charger, ect. I have read a few articles, but have hit somewhat of a wall as to what my mind can comprehend. I suppose I am looking for general recommendations and advice on how to set this thing up in the simplest yet most efficient way possible. I would like to try and keep the whole thing under $1000.
Thank you for reading!

-Tess

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,590 admin
    Re: So...I'm Confused (what a concept) :)

Welcome to the forum Tess.

There are several ways you can proceed.

1) Use a Kill-a-Watt type meter (there are DC Amp*Hour / Watt*Hour meters too) to measure your AC power loads then design the system to support them.
    2) Measure your roof top area and figure out how much in solar panels you can fit. Then size the battery bank to match the panel wattage.
    3) Measure how much room you have for batteries, then design the system around the batteries.

An alarm clock--Probably a small travel alarm is your best bet--I don't recall any 12 VDC powered alarms, and AC clocks can be problematic with AC inverters (and wasteful of power).

You can get a couple of 12 VDC LED lamps, or use an AC powered LED Lamp. For battery/cell chargers--Again you can use a 12 VDC charger or a small AC inverter--Depends if having AC power is important to you or not (I like AC adapters a bit better over 12 VDC adapters--but if you have DC adapters already--they will usually work pretty well).