Really New guy questions....

grpark20
grpark20 Registered Users Posts: 16
Obviously I am brand new to solar and even the solar beginners corner is soem what advanced for me. Hopefully someone can help before I spen any money. I'm looking at putting an off grid system together that can handle my 460 watts 12 volt DC of use. Would it be easier to to use 24 volt panels since they're more readily available and just use a controller that can manage the 12 volt charge from the 24 volt input? What direction do my panels need to face? I'm assuming east or west. I'm located at 08641 so I have no clue. I'ver been reading about true south, lattitude, longitude, etc. I also was reading that if more than 2 panels are used I have to wire them up to a breaker or something like that? My original plan was to run (2) 100 watt 12 volt panels and (1) 85 amp hour battery. Apparently that will not suffice. The load I need to support is a 1.6 amp 12 volt fan that I'd like to run 24/7. I'm now looking at 600 watts and (3) 85 amp hour batteries. This seems like over kill to me for my needs or am I just way off. Also, could I use 24 volt panels to get more wattage to regulate my 12 volt batteries. I'd be looking at using a xantrek controler that has big numbers for input voltage but can regulate 12 volt battery banks. Please offer your opinion before I make a $1000 mistake. Thanks.

George

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Really New guy questions....

define those loads better for everyone here for we don't know if your load draws 460w for an unknown time span or is that the watt hours per day for your loads?
  • grpark20
    niel wrote: »
    define those loads better for everyone here for we don't know if your load draws 460w for an unknown time span or is that the watt hours per day for your loads?