Another panel series/parallel question

Chesuncok1
Chesuncok1 Registered Users Posts: 5
Hello,
I am a newbie to this forum and have been reading stuff for days. Thank you so much for all the great info.

I have a 24v system, 8 T105's in a series/parallel configuration, 2800 watt Magnum inverter at a remote camp off grid.

I have 6 solar panels now and will be adding 6 more soon as the are on the way now. The 6 panels are configured (2 panels in series, 3 strings paralleled) as follows

2 Kyocera 120 watt in series with a Voc 21.5v, Vmp 16.9v, Isc 7.45a, Imp 7.1a these are paralleled with 2 strings of

2 DM solar 145 watt in series with a Voc 21.7v?, Vmp 18.0v, Isc 8.48a?, Imp 8.0a (I am sure of the Vmp & Imp, guessing on the Voc & Isc)

Based on what I have read here, connecting panels in series you look a the difference in current and when connecting in parallel, you look at voltage. The above configuration seemed to yield the most out of the panels. If I add 6 more DM solar 145 watt panels and configure the 6 additional panels as 3 more strings like above, I will have a current of 47 - 48 amps. If I go this way I will have to change my 70 foot run of #6 copper to something bigger which I am OK with if it makes sense. If I do could I use a #2 URD cable as it has 4 conductors (3 - #2's & 1 - #4) so I could do a parallel thing. I am planning on buying the MidNite Classic 150 but could buy the 200 or 250 if it makes sense to you guys that I instead put more panels in series. I didn't know how to configure because if I put 5 DM solar 145's and 1 Kyocera 120 in a string then wouldn't all panels in the string be capped at 7.1 amps which I would lose about 80 watts per string?

I greatly appreciate your thoughts
Scott

Comments

• ggunn
    ggunn Solar Expert Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭
    Re: Another panel series/parallel question
    Chesuncok1 wrote: »