New System and Newbie Operator

Options
Studiojedi
Studiojedi Registered Users Posts: 4
Hello,
Ive been wanting to dive in deeper into solar and I guess am making the next step. I have used a lousy Harbor Freight 45watt system for my RV batteries in the past. Currently for now making some solar panels from cells( a gluton for punishment I know but Im not opposed to abandoning a bad project if that doesnt work out). My over all goal is to have my shop eventually go solar on my regular loads, but in stages. I am a computer/studio guy by trade and have a few servers, alarm system, and various routers/switches constantly running. Probably around 1000-1200 watts. My first stage to get my feet wet here is looking to do a 300-400 watt system for the routers, switches, and alarm system (which will be more than enough). I live in Central Oregon and we get 275+ days of sun a year. Cost of course is a consideration and I am looking at a 30amp MPPT charge controller, 500-600 watts of panels and 2-3 Walmart 29dc 12v 125ah deep cycle batteries. If for some reason there is too much a load I can reduce components to get to a point of equalibrium. I will be looking into a 500-750 watt pure sine wave inveter. I realize that solar setups can be a very subjective point of view but any real red flags with this approach/learning experience?

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: New System and Newbie Operator

Welcome to the forum.

Any red flags? Why yes; there's cheaper ways to get an education! :D

Otherwise, you need to have an accurate measurement of how much power you are trying to provide. Get a Kill-A-Watt meter. Even if you don't do solar you should have one. It's a real eye-opener.