Adding a DPDT switch to the sense lines ?

EagleOne
EagleOne Registered Users Posts: 16
Hello again. I'm still new to this whole solar thing, but I now have my panels up and running on my 'RV'. I am curious if I could put a switch into the battery voltage sense lines for the MS-MPPT60 controller? I would like to take advantage of the sun even when my batteries are full by using the 'system' as a charger for other batteries - such as a friend's or some extra batteries I have that are not connected to my 'house' bank. (All of them AGM)

I have already wired a switch after the 60A DC breaker on the battery + output of the charge controller, so I could switch the output of the controller to feed a second 'load'. I would like to either 'turn off' the existing, and/or 'turn on' a different, sense line if I wanted to use the system to charge other batteries after mine are full. I spent a few bucks (OK, a whole lotta bucks) on the system and I might as well spend a few more to get more use out of it. I have buss/posts to provide 'temporary' bolt-on connections to the charging system.

My usage is spotty, so I have a whole lot of time between uses that the solar isn't really being used. I just wanted to the ability to have it when I needed it.

Is this a do-able scenario? I know I would still have the remote temp sensor on my house bank, but I figure if the batteries are sitting right next to each other during charging I should be pretty close on the temps (as long as I let the temps stabilize a little on the 'other' batteries).

Other than a DPDT switch 'reversing' the lines (I think this is how they work normally), does anybody have any advice about me missing something?

Thanks for any input,
- Chris J.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Adding a DPDT switch to the sense lines ?

Yes it can be done.