Can you simplify system with a high Watt to Vmp panel?

My proposed Outback Flexmax controller has a 150 VDC maximum. I'd like to connect this to approximately 1200 watts of panel. Most of the panels I have looked at so far are in the 225-230watt, 29Vmp range (6 panels thus total ~175 vdc). Using a string calculator I'd likely need to have 2 parallel strings of 3 panels in series, as well as purchase a combiner box with fuses, additional wiring, installation etc.

Could I not just find a panel with a low enough Vmp to stay below the 150 mark, but yet still have the wattage I am looking for? Say a panel in the 200 watt, 18-20Vmp range?

Two examples of this kind of panel: SUN 210 18.3 Vmp and Evergreen 210, 18.3 Vmp (the latter are discontinued but still available perhaps).

The point is that with a total Vmp of less than 150 I could just have all 6 panels in one simple series in a circuit going directly to the CC. I am a electrical novice, and the thought of simplifying my wiring and installation (all has to be done by me) is appealing.

Here is a youtube link to a video posted by Ian from the Independant Spirit that shows exactly what I mean. He gave me the idea.

Using one of my example panels, the SUN 210, six panels would total 109 Vmp & 1260 watts. The outback could handle that.

Less is more?
-SP

ps. Here's my original system thread, FMI. I plan to repipe my PVC to ensure that the hydro makes up for the rest of my system needs. I also need to check that 1260 watts of panel can drive a 400-450 amp/hr battery bank (in case the stream dries up). Then again I have a 5.5kwr gen.;)
Outback Flexpower 1 (FM80, VFX3048E-230v, Mate, FlexNetDC) 2,730watts of "Grid-type" PV, 370 AmpHrs Trojan RE-B's, Honda 2000 watt genny, 100% off grid.

Comments

• waynefromnscanada
    waynefromnscanada Solar Expert Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Can you simplify system with a high Watt to Vmp panel?