Solar Panel Arrangement

Options
Moxie96
Moxie96 Registered Users Posts: 2
Hi - I'm new to the website and I'm hoping to get some help on an exisitng camp solar system. I'm a electrical engineer with a PE in the state of Maine and I do P&C design on substations/transmission lines at the 115000v and up level so my solar experience is limited. I have installed solar power in 3 camps so far.

A good friend of mine wants to upgrade his camp solar system. Currently he has 2 - 110 watt solar panels on opposite sides of the roof peak. He wants to add a 3rd solar panel (200 + watts) on the front part of his roof. This will result in 3 solar panels facing different directions but all 3 will get direct sunlight at different times thru out day.

I have verified the charge controller can handle the additional panel. I have 2 questions:

-The solar panels with be connected in parallel so I don't see any problems adding the larger panel - correct?

-Does having the panels in different locations and each one receiving peak sun at different times cause any problems? I've heard that one can absorb power from another if they are not operating nearly the same wattage but that really doesn't make sense to me.

That's all I have for now. Thanks in advance for any responses.

Comments

• Jim45D
    Jim45D Solar Expert Posts: 102 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Solar Panel Arrangement
    Moxie96 wrote: »
    I have verified the charge controller can handle the additional panel. I have 2 questions:

-The solar panels with be connected in parallel so I don't see any problems adding the larger panel - correct?

-Does having the panels in different locations and each one receiving peak sun at different times cause any problems? I've heard that one can absorb power from another if they are not operating nearly the same wattage but that really doesn't make sense to me.