Converting to Solar (Is it worth it?)

Options
I'm GREEN to GREEN
I am new to solar power and would like to convert my whole house to solar as much as is possible. Is it worth the investment? Are there still tax creditd and such? What do I need to have? I am reading this forum to inform myself but there is so much info. Can someone narrow the search to give as much info per time invested. I would appreciate any help.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Converting to Solar (Is it worth it?)

Short answer is NO, it is almost never worthwhile to just convert to solar power.

Yes, I am being a little silly with the answer, but if you have utility power, there are other places that are better (and greener) to first spend your money before installing solar panels.

Typically, the first place to spend you money is conservation. Before I put up a 3kW grid tie solar system, I insulated my walls, put in double pane vinyl windows, operating skylights for light and ventilation, florescent lighting, new gas furnace, new appliances, beating on kids to turn off lights/close doors, energy star appliances, switch power strips on tv, digital receivers, VCRs, stereos, changed to Time of Use power metering and placed timer on freezer to use off-peak power, etc.)...

Doing the conservation part is important. A one time expense saves power (never used) for the rest of the life of your home.

Once you have done that, you can look into how much a solar system would cost you... I will give you an example... Your are in Baltimore Md... Let's look at a fixed mounted (typically on roof top) grid tie system (best use of solar $$$ for electricity--assume that your utility will allow grid tied systems).