outback VFX

Options
ws9876
ws9876 Solar Expert Posts: 440 ✭✭✭
Outback VFX 24v 3500 watt
anyone have one of these..... how much does the fan run and how much noise does it make..????
these are only a bit more than the Magnums....

Comments

• Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: outback VFX

ws,

First, I have no direct experience with either the OB or Magnum Inverters.

AND, do not kow the system that you are currently using ... But, many inverters make quite a lot of BUZZZZZZZZZZZZZing noise just sitting there without any load at all. And, assuming quite a lot, it is not someting that I would want to have as company inside my house or cabin.

Perhaps I am assuming too much. It is not possible to know what your current system is composed of, and just why you are wanting to know about fan noise. Done assuming, Vic
    Off Grid - Two systems -- 4 SW+ 5548 Inverters, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH X2@48V, 11.1 KW STC PV, 4X MidNite Classic 150 w/ WBjrs, Beta KID on S-530s, MX-60s, MN Bkrs/Boxes.  25 KVA Polyphase Kubota diesel,  Honda Eu6500isa,  Eu3000is-es, Eu2000,  Eu1000 gensets.  Thanks Wind-Sun for this great Forum.
  • vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

I have one. I am happy with it. I really don't know how much noise it makes because I don't want to know. Really! I can't stand noise at home, so I put my batteries and electronics in my detached workshop. My research indicated that virtually all inverters make audible hum and/or RF noise, so that's the reason I went that route. Also, I have learned not to trust the opinions of others about noise... many folks have told me that Danfoss compressors (such as Sunfrost or Sundanzer refrigerators) are virtually silent. I find them intolerable.