What is a Buss Bar

Options
pahorseman
pahorseman Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello everyone. I am new to the forum and new to solar. So new that I don't even have a solar setup yet. I have been doing a lot of reading trying to educate myself on the subject. But without a working knowledge of either solar or electricity I find myself baffled a lot of times on the simplest of things.

While reading some of the posts here I have come across the term buss bar several times. I have no idea what this is and what it does. Was wondering if someone could explain what they are and what they would be used for in a solar setup.

Since I have no electrical experience and because we live in an apartment, so we cannot install anything permanent, everything we have been looking at is of the pre-built portable variety.

The unit would only be used for emergency power during power outages and for camping. I would be running a few lights, a laptop, cable modem and router. So I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on the systems from GoalZero?

The unit I am looking at is their extreme 350 base camp unit. But because of my lack of knowledge I am afraid to purchase. To me it looks like in print it is an excellent unit. But I would really like to hear the advise from some more knowledgeable people than myself.

I have given thought to a gas generator but don't care for having to purchase gasoline to run it or the noise factor. Have also looked into the tri-fuel generators.

Thank you

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    Re: What is a Buss Bar

A Bus Bar is just a length of copper or brass (typically) instead of a wire. They frequently have threaded holes in them for attaching cables or to battery banks.

Busbar - Wikipedia

The GoalZero stuff--I saw some of their stuff (Costco road show). It looks interesting. And there were some issues with their IPhone chargers which they have been addressing (from the little I have read).