constructing a UPS

I am in the market for a larger UPS for my computer, and decided that rather than being normal and just buying one, I'd like to assemble one that could potentially have a PV array added to it someday and/or upgraded without having to discard the whole thing.  (Yes, I know just buying a normal UPS would be cheaper.  Consider it a form of expensive enternainment.)  I'm completely new to the whole solar power thing, so I wanted to run this past everybody to make sure I'm not picking incompatible components or otherwise making poor choices for some reason.
 The UPS does not need to run for any significant length of time; I want to be able to survive weird power fluctuations, and if the power goes off, I want to be able to have time to save whatever I'm doing and shut down.  I don't anticipate needing more than 5 minutes of run time.   While my current system uses significantly less than this, I'm aiming for the eventual possibility of 1000 watts of equipment.  Shutdown will be manual, not automated, so no interface between the UPS and the computer is required.
 I was thinking of going with the following:
Exeltech XP-1100 12v sine wave inverter.
Iota DLS-75 12-v 75-amp charger, with the built-in IQ4 option.
1 Concorde PVX-340T 12v 34AH sealed AGM battery.

The Exeltech inverter was chosen primarily becuase of the claimed 21.5 year MTBF,  but also becuase it is supposed to be quieter than 45dBA, is pure sinewave, and is apparently reasonably efficient.