Microinverter question

Jim S
Jim S Registered Users Posts: 4
After an electrical storm passed, one of the micro inverters on my father-in-law’s PV system wasn’t working. The installer replaced it and since it wasn’t covered under warranty and I am a hobbyist, he gave it to me. It is an Enphase M215 and I was wondering if anyone can identify the four pins on the output connector for me? In other words, I understand one is ground and one is neutral, one is L1 and one is L2, but I need to know which is which? Would appreciate any input.

Comments

• bmet
    bmet Solar Expert Posts: 630 ✭✭
  • Jim S
    Re: Microinverter question

@ bmet: Thank you for the information and diagram.

But what I am looking for is to identify the four pins on the connector directly attached to the M215 micro inverter before the trunk cable connection, not after, as shown in the diagram. Can anyone help me with that? (which pin is ground, neutrel, L1 and L2?)
  • bmet
    bmet Solar Expert Posts: 630 ✭✭
    Jim S wrote: »
    @ bmet: Thank you for the information and diagram.

But what I am looking for is to identify the four pins on the connector directly attached to the M215 micro inverter before the trunk cable connection, not after, as shown in the diagram. Can anyone help me with that? (which pin is ground, neutrel, L1 and L2?)

Can you get a cheap Ohm meter and check continuity from
    opposite ends of the cable?
  • drees
    drees Solar Expert Posts: 482 ✭✭✭
    bmet wrote: »
    Can you get a cheap Ohm meter and check continuity from
    opposite ends of the cable?
    Not going to help - the other ends of the cable are embedded in the inverter.

If the inverter is most likely dead, anyway, cut off the connector and you should find that the wires are color coded.

Black – L1
    Red – L2
    White – Neutral
    Green - Ground
  • Jim S

Thanks to all for the information.
  • ggunn
    ggunn Solar Expert Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭
    Thanks to all for the information.