DIY Solar Panel

SolaRAC
SolaRAC Solar Expert Posts: 52 ✭✭✭✭
I did some searching on this forum and I can't seem to find much about do-it-yourself panels (i.e. purchasing cells and building the panels yourself). There are alot of videos on youtube about it and it does seem to be cost-effective with the only drawback being the time and patience required to build the units. Given that I'm new to solar energy and not looking to spend too much on a panel.. I see this as a good idea...

Looking for some feedback from the pros... what are your thoughts on building your own panels?

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: DIY Solar Panel

There are many threads here about DIY panels.
    They can be summed up thus: with commercial panel prices below $2 per Watt now building your own panels is nothing but a frustrating waste of time, effort, and money.
  • solar_dave
    solar_dave Solar Expert Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭✭

When you can buy commercial panels with UL rating, a 20 year warranty for a $1 a watt it is hard to justify making them.

You can get in trouble with your insurance company as well and for grid tie UL panels are required.
  • SolaRAC

Considering that I'm just in it right now to experiment and that I'm being charged $50-150 to ship one 25-35lb 4'x5' panel oversees to the Bahamas... This looks very attractive:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/40-3x6-Solar-Cell-Kit-Tabbing-Bus-Flux-Diode-/200550182502?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2eb1b8ee66

solar_dave: Is this you -> http://www.solardave.com/ ? :)
  • SolaRAC
    Here are a few of the threads from searching for "homemade"

I was using a bad search string.. DIY Panels / Solar Cells.

Thanks for the info.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Small panels (under 100 Watts) can be ridiculously expensive on a per Watt basis. For those and for learning building your own may be worthwhile. But you need to be aware of the pitfalls, and there are many: