How can I meter an array?

Options
heynow999
heynow999 Solar Expert Posts: 80 ✭✭✭✭
I am an installer in Ontario, Canada

I am going to install a 10 kw system on a flat unshaded roof that I own. What I am considering is using my system to do some side by side comparisons because it would be a good site to do so. I would like to see for myself which technology is best. I am thinking of using one type of module (Siliken) with 5 kw of Enphase inverters and 5 kw of Tigo and an SMA inverter

The system would be grid-tie, feed if tariff. All energy would be sold to the grid. What i would like to do is place a meter between the inveters and the load center so I can measure what each side of the system is producing. The electricity would then go into the grid. I could just use the Enphase website to track production, and the display on the SMA but I would also like to be able to check the accuracy of those devices.

Any suggestions for an inexpensive way to accurately meter each side of the system?

Suggestions on how to do a proper comparison are welcome.

I would keep track of module position so I can know exactly how much power each 5 k should output by using the flash tests for each module. I would also sort the panels for the string side to match panel output.

Thanks

Peter

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: How can I meter an array?

You might look for some used/old "dumb" mechanical utility meters that can log power in both directions. (some meters may have a one way ratchet that you can pull off and restore bi-directional logging).

Just put a socket in each branch circuit and start logging... The meters should be accurate to ~+/- 1-2%.