Confused about SOC on TriMetric 2025A

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post and I'm a complete Newbie. I currently have a setup that has 12 6volt Golf Cart batteries connected in series/parallel to a TriMetric 2025A and a 5000W PSW Inverter. I also have a Rogue MPT 3024 waiting for my Panels to be completed. I use this setup for all the power needs of a small travel trailer. The biggest load in the trailer is the 3.2 cu ft refrigerator/freezer. I do not have any solar panels at this point (building them myself later this month) and charge my batteries from a 8000w AC generator and a Car battery Charger.

My confusion stems from the readings on the TriMetric. It will read 12.6v with -00.1 AH and 65 POC after the charger has been running for several hours. When I disconnect the generator and run off the batteries the voltage will drop to about 12.2v after 10-12 hrs of operating off the batteries. The AH will stay the same and the POC will drop 15-20%. I confirmed that the charger is working and the Voltage will increase once connected to the generator again. But, the AH doesn't change and the POC does not increase.

Appreciate the benefit of your expertise.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Confused about SOC on TriMetric 2025A

Welcome to the forum.

Let's look at some of the aspects of your system, starting with twelve 6 Volt batteries. The Voltage reading you give indicate this is a 12 Volt system, correct? if so you have one big problem to begin with: trying to keep the current flow even in and out of six parallel banks of batteries. Related to this is the fact that would be about 1320 Amp hours @ 12 Volts. That bank would require about 132 Amps of charge current @ 14.4 Volts, or 1900 Watts of power to charge. Your vehicle alternator isn't going to do that. I don't know what you're using for a battery charger but it probably can't manage that either.