Roll-up panel storage?

Options
Greetings i'm new to this (any) forum so correct me if i'm doing something wrong it seems like i'm jumping into the middle but don't know how to start a new thread.....i'm getting some unisolar pvl 68 flexable panels, usually used on steel roofing they are adhesive backed 15.5 in wide and 10 ft long. I perfer these for there flexability and low shipping cost but want to give them a bit more stability yet still be able to roll them up for storage while not in use. they will used both on an RV and a sailboat...the best i've come up with is 1/8 in pvc sheeting which could be screwed to roof racks on RV questions anyone have any experience with these, will the adhesive back stick well to pvc,any other ideas for flexible yet strong backing ideas(thought of foil coated bubble wrap but seems like it might be TOO flexable at 65 mph???? thanx for any help/ideas
Mike

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Roll-up panel storage?

Welcome to the forum, Michael.

I've split this off into a new thread because it's quite different from the house boat application. If you wish to start a new thread, there's a button "New Thread" in the upper left under each category (not within a thread).

You've got an interesting idea there: a backing with flexible panels fastened to it that can be rolled up for storage. I'm not familiar with the flex panels in question so I don't know anything about their properties, but surely someone around here is. One of the issues is how many times they could be rolled without failure.

The foil covered bubble wrap (Reflectix - radiant heat barrier - I've used it for what it's for) isn't very structural and would be likely to tear in general use with panels on it. Certainly wouldn't resist 65 mph air flow.

Heavy-duty poly tarping such as professional truckers use might work.
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options