Will this work

czars
czars Registered Users Posts: 16
I am an experienced electrical contractor with only a little PV experience. A friend has asked me to help design and install a grid tied, battery backed-up, PV system at his home. He has purchased an Xantrex XW-4548 Inverter/Charger, an XW E-Panel, an Outback Flexmax 80 Charge Controller as well as solar panels and a combiner.

He wants the PV array to charge the batteries and then automatically use the Inverter/Charger to use the battery power to create AC power to offset his usage from the power grid when the grid is up and to use the batteries to provide power through the inverter to selected circuits when the grid is down.

I am questioning whether or not or how the Inverter/Charger and the Charge Controller will work together to provide the system operation that he desires. I would welcome input from anyone.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Will this work

Normally an XW is set to charge the batteries first, then sell any surplus solar production to the grid. They work well that way, once you get them set up and working. Using battery power instead of utility isn't very economical, even if used for "time shifting" rates. As a rule, battery based electric comes at a cost of around $1 per kW hour. It is doubtful that he will save that much by switching between night rates and day rates.

There have been discussions of this around here before, but I can't for the life of me think of a simple way to search for them without coming up with every XW thread. :blush:
  • czars
    czars Registered Users Posts: 16

Thanks for your reply. Would my friend be better off utilizing a Xantrex Charge Controller that can communicate with the Inverter/Charger via the Xanbus?
  • solarix
    solarix Solar Expert Posts: 713 ✭✭