Different types of solar panels

Options
momofgcm
momofgcm Solar Expert Posts: 35
I am a total newbie here but I understand the basic concepts of power and solar. It's the details that are killing me! This is a great board for info. It makes me want to go back to school for solar work.

We have 2 houses in Guinea, West Africa with off grid solar systems. The systems are older. We are curruntly trying to upgrade the systems but the stuff being ordered to upgrade the system concerns me. So, I'm trying to figure out what is really needed to make the system to make it better.

The goal was to get fridge/freezers for the 2 homes but I'm not convinced there is enough energy.

So, my first question is I see panels advertised as best for grid-tied systems and some better for off grid.

What is this difference that makes a panel better for off grid verses grid tied?

Kim

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,448 admin
    Options
    Re: Different types of solar panels

For power measurement--If you can get a kill-a-watt meter (there is a UK version if you are using 230 VAC for your home wiring) is hard to beat. If you can get an old utility meter--you can also use those to log your power usage over time (may be easier to get in your area).

In general, any good quality "Grid Tie" solar panel will work well for Off-Grid systems with an MPPT charge controller.

In general, the Grid Tied panels are larger wattage (cheaper $$/Watt pricing) and higher voltage than those designed for battery banks.

However, there is one major issue... The "high voltage" Grid Tied Panels (typically around Vmp=48 to 72 volts) are too low of Vmp to properly charge a 48 volt battery bank. And you cannot put 2 panels in series without Voc (Voltage open circuit, cold) creating too much voltage for MPPT charge controller.

Otherwise, proper planing for Charge Controller + Solar panels before you buy them is always recommended.