Help with number of batteries

Options
CVN-71
CVN-71 Solar Expert Posts: 54 ✭✭
Hi folks, I'm in process of designing a system and would like some advice on what type of AGM battery bank I should use, matched to the final number of panels I will have. I'm new to solar, so please bear with me if my terminology is off and for this long winded thread but i know the experts will have a lot of questions if I didn't.

First let me give a little specifics. Recently refinanced my house and took out a little equity to purchase a small off-grid system. I may want to expand later to bigger and better things but now budget is driving factor. Because of the rebates/incentives I wanted to go solar based, rather than inverter/battery only. My main plan was to use system for power outages, something we get a lot around here, summer and winter. I have been using a generator, but what a PITA, noise, filling it with gas every few hrs, etc.

My emergency load will be a few CFL lights, a few hrs a night, a small TV a few hrs, coffee pot in the morning, maybe running the fridge a couple of hrs at a time per day just to keep food from spoiling, or oil furnace fan to keep the house from getting too cold till grid comes back. I'm currently using a Kill-a-watt to determine actual load, but it's difficult because a summer outage is way different than a winter outage in terms of what is needed. I'm sure the winter load is what I'll use. I may also use 20% of battery capacity daily to reduce current electric bill as well. I'm trying to get the system in and working then add more capacity as needed and budget allows. The big factor is batteries. From what I gathered, it's not wise to add new batteries to an old bank, so I want to get the bank sized right to start. I want AGM because bank will be in the garage and possible sparks from car ignitions, gas vapors tools etc may be encountered. And it could get below freezing at times.

This is what I have planned so far for system: