New EE Checking In, and a Few Questions

Options
retrodog
retrodog Solar Expert Posts: 53 ✭✭
Hi, all. Or maybe that would be Hi ya'all since I'm in Texas. I just ran across this site and it looks pretty interesting. Thought I'd join and check things out.

A few details about myself... I'm an electrical design engineer. I work on the International Space Station. Well I don't really work on it, but rather design things for it. I live in the Houston area (Friendswood) and have recently been getting more interested in Solar power. Oh yeah, I have a Vectrix electric motorcycle as well.

Anyway, most all of the design stuff is pretty straight forward, as I've been designing electrical circuitry and systems for over 26 years, but I just thought I'd ask a few questions...

I'd like to do a system for a dual type function. Primarily, it would serve as a backup power system for power outages (post hurricane and the like) and then potentially feed power back into the grid during regular times to get some slight payback. So I understand the need for batteries, charge controllers, inverters, and the like. But a few things I'd like to get info and opinions on are:

1. My local power company in the Houston area is Centerpoint. Does anybody know their stance on grid tied in systems, or who to call to get an explanation?

2. I have a nice roof over my back patio, facing SW and it would get a lot of almost direct sunlight. It's approximately 16'x14'. How useful would that space be, in terms of about how many KWHrs per day if fully covered?

3. I was thinking about starting out with a few 5-8 of the 200W panels. They run about $600-$700 each. Would that make sense for a start or some other size and configuration.

ETA. Oh yeah, here I am with my Vectrix. I might set up the system to charge the batteries on my bike cause I'm tired of people telling me that gas was burned to generate the electricity that my bike uses. :p

standard.jpg

Comments

• mike95490