New Here - Installing Solar System w/Inverter for my trailer

Hi everyone

I'm very new to the solar/ inverter world, but have been trying to study.

I have a trailer right now that currently has an Onan 5500 generator with a 50 amp transfer switch for shore power.

I am having a professional install (4) 130 watt Kyocera Solar panels on my roof, with Magnum 4024 Pure Sine Inverter, Automatic Gen Start, and Blue Sky Solar Boost Charge Controller, powered by 6 volt AGM 220ah batteries.

My question is, do I need to install a 3 way Automatic Transfer switch now which will switch between inverter, generator and shore power ( http://www.rvparts.com/index.php?a4c04ca134b2150748cdfa8cc8402312a5c05f615cb2ee088daa10e2ad8495c30c06a81491fc446f0be0fc7d2d2067bf1d89224a34db8ddab92b4cc9ff52ce6cdb2fbf93b70772f3092b4cc9ff52ce6cdd260ff2d716a9893417fbd2a30509af1 ) ... or can I somehow keep the Automatic 2-way transfer switch I have now which is just for generator and shore and just turn the inverter on and off when I need it ...

Thanks for your help if you have any suggestions :)

Comments

• rplarry
    rplarry Solar Expert Posts: 203 ✭✭
    Re: New Here - Installing Solar System w/Inverter for my trailer

Pez
    Your installer is the person who should answer that question for you. But in general, most top of the line inverters, (I'm not familiar with the Magnum) have a transfer switch built in. You will still need the 2 way switch to keep shore power and generator power seperate, but from there the power will go to the inverter and pass through to your loads. If there is no power from shore or gen then the inverter will use battery power to supply your AC loads, and it will do this automatically, no switches to flip or turn.
    Hope this helps,
    Larry
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin