Connection problem - newbie

Options
Hopefully someone can steer me in the right direction! (I'm not an electrician!!) I am hooking up a very simple system for short-period boondocking - we use very little power - a 40 watt PowerUp panel and a 4.5 amp Sunguard charge controller. Yesterday was a very sunny afternoon in Albuquerque & I set up the system, not connected to the single RV battery in order to check power output of panel & controller. After 30 minutes in bright sun - at about 50 degree panel angle - I checked voltage from charge controller at to-battery leads - no indication of any power at all - no movement of the needle on voltmeter. I checked voltage on the panel & my voltmeter pegged to below zero. The older voltmeter doesn't give number readings below zero (not digital), but it does work perfectly. I attached positive from controller to panel, put voltmeter lead on positive out to battery from controller & I have negative volt reading when I put negative voltmeter lead on negative out on panel. Changing only the negative test connection (using either negative on controller & connecting either negative on controller to negative from panel & testing at other negative from controller lead), I get no reading on voltmeter (no needle movement at all).

I would think that in the bright sun, angled pretty well, I should be getting something other than a negative reading from panel. (Am I on the right track?). Any ideas, suggestions? It is starting to look like panel is bad. Thanks for any help!!! - Charlie

Comments

• Roderick
    Roderick Solar Expert Posts: 253 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Connection problem - newbie

If you disconnected the panel from the charge controller, the panel should never put out negative voltage under any reasonable lighting conditions (that is, if you're able to read your analog voltmeter, there's enough ambient light).

Maybe the leads are reversed?