mc4 junction box???

Newbie here:

I am wondering if anyone can provide some guidance on installing a mc4 junction box to a home made solar panel? I have the solar panel complete with two leads (pos and neg) coming out the back of the panel. I have seen a few youtube video's showing how to install a mc4 junction box but it only shows 4 tabbing or bus wires coming out of the back of the panel, but the video only says if the wires are pos or neg. I'm at a loss right now on how to wire it up. Does anyone have any diagrams showing what wires go into the mc4 junction box?

Thanks

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: mc4 junction box???

Welcome to the forum... Your first post did come through--You should not need to create a second thread. It will spread the same discussion across several threads.

I will past some links for you to read/watch... Hopefully they will help you understand. Otherwise, you may need to post pictures of the parts and real of the panel if you need more information:

http://www.electricaltechnology.org/2013/03/how-to-get-connection-from-solar-panel.html

This is a video--Note that the narration is wrong--that is a BYPASS DIODE, not a blocking diode (above link shows bypass diodes and how they are installed).

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-To-Build-A-Solar-Panel/step8/Installing-the-Junction-Box/

If you have glass panels with teldar or some sort of thin plastic backing, then you will probably use type 2 neutral cure silicon seal. If you are using wood backing--you probably will add a couple screws to hold the J-box down (and some silicon sealant).

Does this help... If not, can you be a little more specific with your question(s)?

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • fcSolar
    fcSolar Registered Users Posts: 5