Basic Panel Question

Lucent
Lucent Registered Users Posts: 8
I have 3 monocrystalline panels (Grape Solar)
36.2 V, 5.25 A,190 Watts

My charge controller is a C-40 Xantrex set at 12 volts.
Max. PV Open Circuit Array Voltage 125 volts
Charging / Load Current (at 25 °C) 40 amps
Max. Peak current 85 amps

My batteries are 6 volt 186 Ah x 10 wired for 12 volts.

Question...Since these panels are 36.2 volts.......can they be used with my charge controller? How can you tell if a panel is a 12 volt panel? It seems that all charge controllers are either 12, 24, or 48 volts....why are the panels listed above are 36.2 volts? Is there such a thing as a 36.2 volt charge controller?

I am very new at this would appreciate any help.

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Basic Panel Question
    Lucent wrote: »
    I have 3 monocrystalline panels (Grape Solar)
    36.2 V, 5.25 A,190 Watts

Welcome to the forum.

First of all you must understand panel voltage specs. Voc is the open circuit voltage. Vmp is the voltage for maximum power. I think 36.2 is the Vmp for your panels.
    Question...Since these panels are 36.2 volts.......can they be used with my charge controller?

Yes, but it will be very inefficient. You need an MPPT type of controller.
    How can you tell if a panel is a 12 volt panel?
    It will have a Vmp of about 17 or 18 volts.
    It seems that all charge controllers are either 12, 24, or 48 volts. <snip> Is there such a thing as a 36.2 volt charge controller?

The 12, 24, or 48 refers to the battery, not the panel. Few controllers can be programed to charge a 36 volt battery.
    why are the panels listed above are 36.2 volts?

Those panels could be used with a PWM type of controller and a 24 volt battery. They can also be used with a 12 volt battery with an MPPT controller.
    Many panels have odd, high voltages because they are use in series to make the very high voltages needed for grid-tie inverters.