Interested in starting a project... Know nothing.

Options
Well I'll start with some background information.

I live in Cincinnati Ohio, currently I am a student and Northern Kentucky University. This is my final year of school (graduating with a Bachelors in Entrepreneurship this Spring) and I am contemplating starting a project, to live off the grid and to cut down all my costs when i leave college.

My family (Parents, a brother and his family) live on a farm (about 24 acres). Solar power is definitely an option, when the sun isn't shining then it's almost always windy/storming so a combination of Solar/Wind is very plausible here.

I am contemplating building a small house, maybe 30ftX20ft. My needs are simple, I am an outdoors guy. Basically my needs run as far as Window AC, Refrigerator, Freezer, Microwave, Lighting, a small television, and plumbing.

where would be a good starting point to learn what system i will need? what special needs does an Off-Grid system require?

I have recently helped a brother build a log house (attached to the power grid) So I understand basic construction, but i am completely at a loss when it comes to power and electricity.

any tips, sources anything? I would appreciate it a lot! :)

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Interested in starting a project... Know nothing.

Basically:

1: Conservation
    2: Measure your loads (monthly, or with a kill-a-watt meter)
    3: Do you have utility power (Grid Tied vs Off-Grid)
    4: Solar Thermal for Domestic Hot water/heating is usually a better investment (more maintenance though).
    5: With solar electric, are you looking to save money, have emergency backup power, just want to "go green", etc.? For short outages, a small generator (like a Honda eu2000i) may be more cost effective vs full Off-Grid capable system.