New system, is it OK?

Hi,

We are due to move to a rural property near Almeria, Spain.

Have no mains power to the house, so am looking to install a solar / generator hybrid system, the components I have selected are as follows:

6, Kyocera 205w, 24v panels, 3 banks of 2 panels wired in series.
4, 357Ah, 12v Rolls Solar 5000 batteries, in series giving 48v, 357Ah or
8, 400Ah 6v Rolls Solar 4000 Batteries, same config.
1, Outback FM80 Charge Controller
1, Outback VFX3048e Inverter Charger
1, Hub4
1, Mate Controller
1, 5.5kVa genset, with autostart.

We have estimated a daily useage of approx 4Kw, but hopefully have sized for slightly more.

Is the above equipment, and configuration any good?

Can anybody come up with any issues with the above, as I am very new to this, and pretty much making it up as I go along.

Thankyou for any help you can give me.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: New system, is it OK?
    scottydog wrote: »
    6, Kyocera 205w, 24v panels, 3 banks of 2 panels wired in series.
    batteries, in series giving 48v,

48V battery banks require about 59V to charge, which the charge controller manages. But you need to feed the controller 72 volts, for it to mange this. You may need 3 panels in series instead of 2. The charge controller has a "magic" MPPT circuit in it that converts the 72v to 59V for charging.
    I don't know if outback has a panel sizer like Xantrex does, but you need to account for your coldest temperatures, which is when your panels output their highest voltage, which can approach the controllers limit.

Your daily power looks OK for summertime, but if you get some partly cloudy days in winter, you will come up short and need to run your generator. Will you be able to tilt your panels for optimum angle in the winter ?

For connection simplicity, I like 12V batteries, but if you like ease of replacement of a sick battery, the 6V batteries have better "granularity".