Help!!!!Very new to alternative energy

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hello everyone,
I am very new to solar/wind energy and I need a little help getting started. We are 1st time home buyers who are looking to save on energy and help out the enviornment. We would love to have a home that would decrease the amount of energy that is used form oil but we live in maryland and we have limited funds. Does anyone know where we could find information on getting started with solar panels and windmills also is it easier to add solar panels to a new home or an existing one? Does anyone know of any websites/companies that would walk you through this process step by step? Any information would be greatly appreciated

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: Help!!!!Very new to alternative energy

Solar or wind is on the bottom of the list ...

First, add insulation, R40 minimum for the attic
    Second, get high efficiency appliances, including getting a high SEER heatpump if you home uses that technology for heating/cooling

Once you have done this THEN you can start looking into solar.

First, would be solar thermal for the hotwater
    Next, maybe PV for gridtie electric

and NEVER, wind ... there are no products out there for home owners that are worth buying.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

Ditto what SG says... I would add double pane windows too.

Also, if you are ever going to go solar--check your location... Both for existing orientation, structures, trees, and power lines (even a little power line shadow will kill Solar PV electric output while the shadow is even on one panel--Solar Hot Water/Thermal is a bit better in this regard).

And look at what can happen in the future too... nothing like a new addition or redwood tree on the next door property that you have no control over blocking your panels.