Adding Batteries-Outback Inverter, Renogy 40A MPPT

GreyMtOffGrid
GreyMtOffGrid Registered Users Posts: 5 ✭✭
 I am fairly new to solar and I joined this community and I am looking for some advice in adding batteries to the set up I have. I currently have an Outback FX Series inverter in a 24V system with a Renogy 40 amp MPPT charge controller with 800 watts (10-80 watt panels) of solar. I currently have 4-100 ah batteries to power my lights in my little house. 

I want to use it to be able to power a little more to charge things and recently I have notice my batteries haven’t been getting above 25.5 volts when they are done charging about sundown. I have a few questions. 

1. Will I be able to add 4-100 ah batteries to my system and be able to have them fully charged? What voltage should I expect in a fully charged 24 volt battery bank? My batteries are 1 month old since I installed them on Christmas break. 

2. Will I need a larger charger controller or would I be able to hook up a 2nd charge controller to catch the morning sun. My idea is to mount them to the side of my little house facing East and go directly to the battery. 

3. Do I need to add more panels instead and upgrade my charge controller? Right now my input voltage sits around 36 volts at about 16 amps coming from my current panels. That’s when it’s maxed out charging. I’ve never been able to get above 470 watts in a day input. I have been able to get around 70-80 ah’s daily according to the Renogy Bluetooth monitoring app. 

Any advice or help would be appreciated. 

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome.
      Looks like you just barely have enough solar PV to manage the batteries you have,  adding more batteries without more solar to charge them with, will fail.   You want to aim for 10-15% of the battery capacity, as your charge rate. 200ah of battery, needs at least 20A to charge with.