Axial Flux, Classic, Clipper & Diversion ?s

Wbuffetjr1
Wbuffetjr1 Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭
edited March 2019 in Wind Power Generation #1

Hey folks

My site is at 10,000' in the mountains in Colorado. We get some really good wind. I have an off grid solar system in place now. 48V battery bank, Classic 200, Magnum 4448PAE inverter. This Summer I will be adding an Axial Flux turbine to the mix (15 coils, 70 turns each coil, 8.2' blade set, ~40' tower). The turbine stator can be setup for 24V, 48V or 64V. Trying to decide whether to run it at 48V or 64V. Any advice? 

I am not an expert at this stuff. Still learning tons. I am having a hard time wrapping my brain around which classic to run the turbine with. I already own a brand new Classic 250 that I would like to use to save some money. Planning on purchasing the Midnite 4,000 watt AC clipper. Does anyone see any issues with this setup? Would the classic 200 be a better fit? I want to have plenty of headroom but I will probably set the clipper and classic up pretty conservatively. It is a remote site and long periods without someone there. I would like the turbine and electronics to have a long healthy life. This ties back to my first question. Hard for me to nail down the best combination of stator voltage and classic sizing.