16 Solarex MS120 Panels for free? Any good?

Options
tauras911
tauras911 Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1
Hi,  A friend has offered me 16 Solarex MS120 panels for free.  Actually a family member left them on his property and he wants them gone, lol.  Anyways, I believe these panels where available around 2010 and are not longer offered.  I am really new to solar, but have been wanting to get into it and been looking for free equipment to get started.  Well, here is some.  Can you tell me whether it is worth it drive and hour and grab these... are these still viable.  What else would I need to get a solar setup going besides a ad/dc converter, solar regulator, and batteries?

total newb to solar, if you couldnt tell.

Thanks all!

Comments

• mcgivor
    mcgivor Solar Expert Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Free is always a fair price, most panels last in excess of 25 years unless something abnormal occurs, starting with panels is not the ideal approach to design but for a learning experience the price is right. With regards to the other components needed, that would depend largely on intended use, most will need some means of controlling and storage, charge controller/battery. 
    1500W, 6× Schutten 250W Poly panels , Schneider MPPT 60 150 CC, Schneider SW 2524 inverter, 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Battery Bodyguard BMS 
    Second system 1890W  3 × 300W No name brand poly, 3×330 Sunsolar Poly panels, Morningstar TS 60 PWM controller, no name 2000W inverter 400Ah LFP 24V nominal battery with Daly BMS, used for water pumping and day time air conditioning.  
    5Kw Yanmar clone single cylinder air cooled diesel generator for rare emergency charging and welding.
  • littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options