Newbie Help

careyx1
careyx1 Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2
edited February 2018 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Hey everyone!

So I'm extremely new to solar panels, and solar panel systems. But I am planning to construct a charging system at my school.
I have a quite a few questions that I would appreciate your help with. Keep in mind my budget for this is around $500-550USD, my aim is to be able to charge 10ish Mid-2012 Macbook pros, would a 200W (100w x 2) solar panel(s) be enough?

1. What are the components I'll need?
I've read around that I'll need a solar charge inverter, an AGM battery, a charge controller, a combiner box and an AC/DC disconnect. Can someone just confirm/go over this? I'm still puzzled on what they all do and which ones I should be getting. 

2. How do I find out how much power I'll be generating/drawing?
Apparently, If I get a 200w solar panel and have 10 hours of daylight, I'll have 2 kwh of energy... Is this true? and is that a lot/enough? for a charging station. 

3. Building a mounting system...
I figured I could save money by building my own mounting system, could someone recommend a guide to doing so? If it's even possible.

4. Storage and energy...
If I do get 2000w of energy, what sort of inverter and battery and controller and whatnot should I get/need? The internet makes it sound like things could explode (and leak hydrogen!?).

5. Volts, Amps and Watts
What is a 12v vs 6v battery? Does it matter? Same goes for amps and watts. Does this influence the components I'll need?

Anything else that I should know (literally anything, I'm pretty much clueless) is helpful! I really appreciate the it.
Thanks!
- X

Comments

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum.