Step down 14.2v to 6.8v to charge a single Trojan 6v battery

Outrunner
Outrunner Registered Users Posts: 4
edited February 2016 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Hi all, totally newbie here, need some advice, I'm not sure I'm doing my schematics right...

I was thinking to get a L105 6v Trojan battery, and step down the Voltage from the regulator to 6.8v to feed it.

Input PV is a 240W Mono, 31V, 9.7A that goes into a 30A MPPT > only 12v or 24v out.
But at 14.2V output, amperage is already at 16A. Stepping down to 6.8 would crank it up to 35A.
and there are not many dc/dc converter that goes that far up. So instead of getting a single 6v battery,
I probably would be better off with a line of 2x6v Trojan L105>125 batteries.
Also don't want to oversize my bank, as I know my tot Wp usage is well within what single L105 battery can provide me.

Input PV is a 240W Mono, 31V, 9.7A that goes into a 30A MPPT > 13 to 16A peak out at 14.2v

So I thought.... I may split the current in two, or three lines, with an Amp breaker, than feed three equal cheap Dc/dc converter with max specs of 10a  and then recombine the output to feed my single 6v Trojan battery. I'd say 30 bucks for the splitter/converter/merger/ could do.

The downside in this config, is that I the MPPT would not read the battery Voltage state now, undervoltage now would be set into the dc/dc converter instead... I'm not totally sure I can bypass this, but it should... so there is the FLOAT function I would lose. And that may be a problem, how would I tell the controller to stop feed the battery once that is fully charged??

I would then use another dc/dc to get back 12v for my appliances.

But... could it works? Anyone has experience in using dc/dc to charge 6v batteries with this Amperage?
Do I have some alternative or it is just better to get two 6v and put them in line?

ty
Outrunner

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin