Low amps produced by 100 watt panel? Why?

Joesv57
Joesv57 Registered Users Posts: 8
I'm a newbie so appreciate your thoughts.  What could I check on why I would only be getting 2-4 amps from my new 100 watt panel in direct sun?  From what I read, shouldn't I be getting about 6-7 amps?  I am running 10 amp wiring about 50 ft. from the panel to the charge controller and the temp is about 20 outside.
Thanks

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Joesv57 said:
    What could I check on why I would only be getting 2-4 amps from my new 100 watt panel in direct sun?  From what I read, shouldn't I be getting about 6-7 amps?  I am running 10 amp wiring about 50 ft. from the panel to the charge controller and the temp is about 20 outside.
    What is "10 amp" wire?  50 ft of it might have too much resistance and be limiting your current.

--vtMaps
    4 X 235watt Samsung, Midnite ePanel, Outback VFX3524 FM60 & mate, 4 Interstate L16, trimetric, Honda eu2000i
  • Joesv57
    Sorry I meant 10 gauge wire.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Nominally, a 100 Watt panel would probably have:

100 Watts / 17.5 volt Vmp = 5.7 Amps Imp

Short the panel and measure your Isc in noon-time sun (use a 10 Amp DMM, or use a DC Current Clamp type meter).

And running 50 feet (one way run) at 4 amps on 10 AWG, the voltage drop would be:

http://www.calculator.net/voltage-drop-calculator.html?material=copper&wiresize=3.277&voltage=17.5&phase=ac&noofconductor=1&distance=50&distanceunit=feet&amperes=4&x=51&y=5

Voltage drop: 0.40
    Voltage drop percentage: 2.29%
    Voltage at the end: 17.1

So, for a 6 amp run, significant voltage drop, but not enough to cause the 2 amp full noon time draw... Of course, this also depends your "loads"... A panel will only output as much as the charge controller will accept.

If the Isc is less than 50% of rated output on an average sunny day at noon time--Then the panel may be bad.