newbie help

Hi im new to everything and i need some help. So i got this 6v 1.5watt solar panel and i want to do something with it. I've googled so much, but i didn't find all that much. So i'm just wondering what i could do with it. I am thinking about making a solar light or something, but i don't know what kind of battery it could charge and how long the lights would be on for and so on.

Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: newbie help

most would go with a nimh or nicad battery charger, but today's batteries are picky of the charging circuit.
  • nigtomdaw
    nigtomdaw Solar Expert Posts: 705 ✭✭

Have a web search for educational solar kits or something similar, there are numerous people selling such kits (IN UK at least) and most use a similar small solar panel have a look at whats available and make your choice. I would thinks that a model shop would carry most parts to finish any project yoy decide to try.
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

hi the problem with googling is that all the sites show like 2v 200ma solar panel and mine says 6v 1.5 panel, i don't know if theres a conversion from watts to amps or anything.
  • niel

basic electronic formula for power is:
    power(watts)=voltsxamps
    with that if you know any 2 of the elements in the formula that the other could be found. 200ma is .2amps btw. for your little panel it is 1.5w/6v=.25amps or 250ma. does that help you?
  • System2

So what kind of battery would that charge, an AA battery is like 500ma, and when i figure out what battery i could charge, how do i figure out what i can power with it. Lets say i want to power some led's with it, theres some 5mm 3.2-3.4V @ 20mA white leds. Could i run (250/20 = 12.5) 12 of them for like 8 hours at night?
  • niel