What battery voltage should I have my system shutdown at with a 24v system??

Options
90cummins
90cummins Solar Expert Posts: 57 ✭✭
What voltage should I set the low volt warning to on my Xantrex XW4024 inverter?
I have 4 (NEW) L16RE-B batteries rated at 370ah each.
I checked the specific gravity of all cells and it was in speck and I also did an equalization charge as Trojan recommended for new batteries.
If I set the low voltage warning to 24v it goes off within minutes with a 1000 watt load.
Being an auto mechanic I realize that the voltage will droop more as the load is increased and is not a true indication of battery state of charge.
Using the Trojan calculator which includes inverter inefficiency's I should be able to get 14 hours at 1000 watts for a 30% DOD.
My Xantrex controller allows me to set the low battery warning as low as 20v.
I do not want to damage my batteries so I need experienced advice.

Thanks 90cummins

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: What battery voltage should I have my system shutdown at with a 24v system??

I think you should check just how much V-drop you're getting with that 1kW load. About 42 Amps on 24 Volts, and that should not be too much for 370 Amp hour batteries at all (about 11%). If the wire size is too small for the length you'll get more drop than you should. Normally nominal Voltage under load is right for LVD as it prevents batteries going below 50% SOC. If you have particularly heavy loads, check how much drop you get and if that can't be improved on with cable change adjust the LVD downward by that much. In other words if you get 0.5 Volt drop then set the LVD down to 23.5 instead of 24. 1 Volt drop: 23. Et cetera. Just don't go down any lower than 21.
  • Blackcherry04
    Blackcherry04 Solar Expert Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: What battery voltage should I have my system shutdown at with a 24v system??